Inspiration – Japanese woodblock prints

I have always loved Japanese culture. I love watching Japanese movies. I am not a big fan of manga but my favorite movie is AKIRA πŸ™‚ . In the past few years I started reading more about Japan and Japanese culture. I have always wanted to create something that was inspired by Japan. Japanese letters are very interesting and I wanted to use them for some designs, but I never had an idea how to use them. Last week I stumbled upon an interesting book. My dad owns many many interesting books about Japanese culture and I like exploring something that is different from the culture of my country. When I saw the book “Japanese woodblock prints” I was so inspired that I couldn’t resist. I had an amazing idea how to use this for my inspiration. I took a detail from a print and used it as a design for textile. I tried to make it as much detailed as I could. If you look carefully you can see a person in a kimono, with many different textile patterns. Every pattern is some other part of a kimono. I wanted to try and make this to look like Japanese prints but, on the other hand to make them as textile prints. I used some Japanese signs from the book. In two drawing I wrote Mina Sparklina in Japanese, and it looks like this ηΎŽεγƒ»ε―Ώζ‹ι‡Œε. I used this because I wanted to put something that represents my work πŸ™‚ !

I did six drawings. After that I scanned them because I wanted to see what I can do more to make them interesting. I had an idea maybe to try flipping a drawing Β and to make it like a picture in the mirror. Some of them are very interesting, but some are better then in an original drawing. I am not sure what I am going to do later with this, maybe I will print them on fabric. I really like this and that is why I am sharing them with you. πŸ™‚

6

5

1

2

3

4

Pictures in the mirror you’ll see in my next post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

