!!!! Right On !!!! *60’s and 70’s pattern inspirations*

Hello everyone 🙂

I decided to create a new post about patterns I did for a competition. This is for Textile Federation competition and inspiration is the Psychedelic art movement of the 60′s and 70′s and referensing artists such as Peter Max, Miguel Calatayud and Celia Birtwell, as well as the early music poster scene of the time .

I did 3 totally different designs and I want share them to You.

The first design I made is from my old sketch. I just flipped it horizontal and vertical and that was that. I usually don’t like to make designs only by flipping it, because that is the easiest way to make good pattern, but for this design I decided to do it..

my world

For the second design I used some details from my old patterns and I created new one. For this design inspiration was the Sun from Peter Max art. And it looks like this

HIPPY SUN
                                                                                    HIPPY SUN

The last design I just finished hour ago and then I decided to write this post so I can share this with you

Well, for this design an inspiration was a song. While I was doing the second design I put some music from 70’s. My choice was Jimi Hendrix and The Doors. I like music from 60’s and 70’s and I wanted to listen music from that time while I am working on my designs. The song I used for third design is FOXY LADY from Jimi Hendrix… I read again competition details and I saw they wrote that inspiration can be “the early music poster”. I Google that and I found so many great posters and I got awesome idea.

The song + Posters + Picture of me …. = I made a design like this

FOXY LADY
                                                                       FOXY LADY

You know you’re a cute little heartbreaker
Foxy
You know you’re a sweet little lovemaker
Foxy

I wanna take you home
I won’t do you no harm, no
You’ve got to be all mine, all mine
Ooh, foxy lady

Leave a Reply

